Show Prayer Timing Hide Prayer Timing

Visit all the seven Emirates

The United Arab Emirates are located at the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula by the Persian Gulf. It borders Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south and west.

The sovereign constitutional monarchy is a federation of seven emirates consisting of Abu Dhabi (which serves as the capital), Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah. Their borders are complex, with numerous enclaves within the various emirates. Each emirate is governed by a ruler; together, they form the Federal Supreme Council. One of the rulers serves as the President of the United Arab Emirates.

The UAE’s oil reserves are the seventh-largest in the entire world.

It is a member of the United Nations, the Arab League, the Organization of Islamic Cooperation, OPEC, the Non-Aligned Movement and the Gulf Cooperation Council.

The Seven Arab Emirates

Abu Dhabi -أبو ظبي

Abu Dhabi is the largest of the seven emirates and the capital of the United Arab Emirates. In recent years Abu Dhabi has made a remarkable transition from a little-known coastal town with a long tradition of pearl diving to a huge modern metropolis.

From cultural excursions, archaeological sites and wildlife sanctuaries to thrilling adventures and golf facilities, the emirate of Abu Dhabi, with more than 200 islands, has something to offer for everyone.

Dubai – دبي

Dubai is the second largest of the seven emirates, which make up the United Arab Emirates. It is the leading center for business and tourism in the UAE and has around 3 million inhabitants.

Enjoy the fascinating contrasts of a modern city in an endless desert, of east and west and of old and new. The cosmopolitan city Dubai combines the comfort of the western world with the warm hospitality of Arabia.

Sharjah – الشارقة

Sharjah is the third largest of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates. It is the only one which has land on the Arabian Gulf and the Gulf of Oman. The three enclaves of Dibba Al Hisn, Khorfakkan and Kalba situated at the beautiful east coast belong to Sharjah, along with the capital Al Dhaid and the islands of Abu Mousa and Sir Bu Nair.

Sharjah is the home of Islamic culture. Explore the heritage and arts area in the heart of Sharjah. The emirate was officially named the Cultural Capital of the Arab World by UNESCO in 1998 and was selected as the Islamic Culture Capital in 2014.

Ajman – عجمان

Ajman is the smallest of the seven emirates and is centrally located on the western coast of the UAE.

Situated between the emirates of Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain, Ajman has a beautiful 16-kilometer-long beach along the Gulf coast. Its port is located along a natural creek which penetrates the city.

Strolling along Ajman Corniche is a popular leisure activity.

The enclave of Masfout is situated at a distance of 110 km to the south east of Ajman. It is a dream location for every hiker. Manama, the second enclave, is known for its pleasant scenery.

Umm Al Quwain – ام القيوين

Umm Al Quwain is the least populous of the seven emirates and a very quiet and peaceful place where you can easily relax. It is located between Ajman and Ras Al Khaimah.

Umm Al Quwain offers long sand beaches, an enclosed lagoon and public horse riding stables.

Ras Al Khaimah – رأس الخيمة

Ras Al Khaimah offers the most picturesque and unique landscape with its terracotta desert planes, rocky Hajar Mountains and long sandy beaches.

Enjoy a weekend trip to Musandam in the sultanate of Oman.

Fujairah – الفجيرة

Fujairah is the only emirate that is located at the east coast and is almost completely mountainous.

The Hajar Mountains that divide the United Arab Emirates into two territories has kept Fujairah separated from the rest of the country.

Fujairah is an emirate with remarkable beauty, long sand beaches and majestic mountain ranges.

Enjoy several water sports like yachting, surfing, diving and deep sea fishing, which take place all year round.


Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, and Ras Al Khaimah are all connected by the Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed Road E311.

In Dubai City, the metro, Dubai Tram and Palm Jumeirah Monorail connect specific parts of the city.

Public buses are also provided which connect all seven emirates:

What you need to be aware of, when you enter the UAE: